Hall of Champions NAIDOC Week

Para-Athletes Honoured

International Day of People with Disability is sanctioned by the United Nations and celebrated internationally on 3 December each year.

It aims to increase public awareness, understanding and acceptance of people with disability and celebrate their achievements and contributions. The NSW Hall of Champions pays tribute to athletes with a disability who have been recognised on our Roll of Honour.





Geoff Nicholas

Geoff Nicholas AM

Geoff Nicholas won both the British and US Amputee Open Championships for twelve consecutive years between 1990 and 2002 and in 1992 became the first amputee golfer to earn an Australasian PGA Tour Card.

Amy Winters

Amy Winters OAM

Winters won 5 gold and 2 bronze medals in the T46 100m and 200m at the 1996, 2000 and 2004 Paralympic Games. She became the first Australian to win the 200m at three consecutive Paralympics.

Daphne Hilton

Daphne Hilton

Daphne Hilton (formerly Ceeney) is a pioneer in para-sports, competing at three Paralympic Games between 1960 and 1968. Her achievement of winning 14 Paralympic medals in five different sports has never been equalled.

Cindy-Lu Fitzpatrick

Cindy-Lu Fitzpatrick OAM

Between 1977 and 1997 Cindy-Lu Fitzpatrick competed in six World Games for the Deaf, winning 19 gold, 4 silver and 5 bronze medals. She also competed at the 1982 and 1986 Commonwealth Games.

Charles Tapscott

Charles Tapscott

Charles Tapscott excelled at many international sporting events for the disabled. These included swimming, discus, javelin, highjump and snooker. He won gold and silver medals swimming freestyle, breaststroke and backstroke in the 1970s and ‘80s.

Louise Sauvage

Louise Sauvage OAM

Louise Sauvage won nine gold and four silver medals at four Paralympics (1992, 1996, 2000, 2004). She also competed at three Olympic Games (1996, 2000, 2004) winning two gold and one bronze medal.

Greg Smith

Greg Smith OAM

Greg Smith won medals at three Paralympic Games – bronze in the wheelchair marathon (1992), silver in 5000m (1996) and gold in the 800m, 1500m and 5000m events (2000).

Troy Sachs

Troy Sachs OAM

Five-time Paralympian between 1992 and 2008, Troy Sachs won gold in 1996 at Atlanta, scoring a record 42 points. His wide-ranging career has elevated Australian men’s wheelchair basketball to the number one ranked nation in the world.

David Hall

David Hall OAM

The highlight of David Hall’s career was winning the singles gold medal at the Sydney 2000 Paralympics where he also won the bronze doubles. He was a six times ITF wheelchair world champion.