Sports Centre - Venue Hire - NSW Hall of Champions - Photography by The Big Picture

NSW Hall of Champions

The NSW Hall of Champions is a sport museum and hall of fame which pays tribute to this state’s greatest sporting successes. Every year, athletes who have achieved at the highest level of their sport are selected for induction.

Since 1979, 377 sportsmen and women representing 56 sports have been added to the Honour Roll.

Sporting icons such as Sir Donald Bradman, Dawn Fraser, Shane Gould and Dally Messenger are included in this prestigious list. More recent champions include Ian Thorpe, Layne Beachley and Michael O’Loughlin. Exhibitions showcasing the museum’s significant collection help bring our sporting heritage to life.

Athletes are approved for induction by the Minister for Sport following recommendations from the Hall of Champions Selection Committee and New South Wales peak sporting bodies.


2019 Induction Ceremony

Photo Gallery

Six of New South Wales’ most exceptional athletes were inducted into the Hall of Champions at Quaycentre, Sydney Olympic Park, recognising their outstanding achievements in the their chosen field of sport. Cricketer Richie Benaud OBE was elevated to Legend status.

Read more

Read more on our 2019 Hall Of Champions Induction Ceremony

Find out more